APA establishes Diversity and Inclusion Working Group


The Australian Publishers Association board has prioritised work on diversity and inclusion,  announcing the creation of a working group to lead industry efforts in this space under the leadership of Astrid Browne from Hardie Grant.  

APA President, James Kellow stated that:

‘Both justice and commerce dictate that the industry think harder about who we publish, how we publish, who we employ, how we employ them and how we reach a wider community of readers.

Reading is among the most important of all skills;  and books,  learning materials and journals are among the most important resources we have in sustaining the modern world. So we have every reason to strive to include more people into the nation’s literary life.’

At the Association's recent AGM, Kellow reaffirmed that the APA is committed to fostering and supporting a book industry and culture that serves the needs of all Australians. In practice, this means securing equality of access to books and encouraging widespread participation in book culture.

The Diversity and Inclusion Working Group, which will meet for the first time in June, will advise and support the APA Board in the Association’s ambitions to:

  • ensure reading is for all Australians
  • support First nations’ writers, publishing and readers
  • embrace and facilitate diversity in our own companies
  • ensure our technologies and products are inclusive

The Working Group will take up an advisory role in relation to existing D&I initiatives, including 

  • the diversity & inclusion workforce survey, which will report in mid-2022
  • the development  of the First National publishing handbook 
  • the APA’s role in the Open Book internship programs
  • the APA’s support for educational publishers to meet the mandatory requirements for accessible learning materials

The initial working group members are 

  • Astrid Browne – Chair (Hardie Grant)
  • Rachel Bin Salleh (Magabala)
  • Julie Burland (Penguin Random House & APA Board)
  • Rosina Di Marzo (Hachette)
  • Angela Glindemann (OUP)
  • Ben James (UQP & APA Board)
  • Rachael Pictor (Cengage)
  • Haijira Shaheen (Learning Consultant & APA Board observer)
  • Robert Watkins (Ultimo)

In time, the working group will be augmented by a wider reference group that industry members will be able to join. For further information contact [email protected]