ABIA Business Awards shortlist and Hall Of Fame winners

ABIA Shortlist graphic

The Australian Publishers Association is pleased to announce the  – all to be presented at this year’s Australian Book Industry Awards.

The Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) celebrate the professionals in the book business – the dedicated individuals and teams who bring stories to life, and books to the right readers. The Business Awards recognise outstanding contributions to the industry, celebrating the best Publishing companies and bookshops across the country.

New categories for Commissioning Editor and Marketing Strategy have been introduced this year, and honour those behind the books, and the campaigns that bring them to booksellers and readers.

ABIA 2023 Business Awards shortlists

Congratulations to all those shortlisted for Bookshop and Book Retailer of the Year, and Publisher and Small Publisher of the Year, and the new Marketing Strategy and Commissioning Editor/Publisher of the Year Awards.

Bookshop of the Year

  • Where The Wild Things Are Bookshop
  • Matilda Bookshop
  • Readings Emporium
  • Boffins Books
  • Bookgrove, Stacey Moore(Bookgrove)

On bookshops, the judging panel said:

‘All the entries were impressive, and the shortlisted stores all demonstrated how independent bookstores are an important part of the community engaging with notable initiatives and outreach activities to encourage reading and literacy within our communities. Passion, energy and hard work was synonymous will all on the shortlist.’

Book Retailer of the Year

  • QBD
  • Target Australia
  • Dymocks
  • Big W
  • Harry Hartog Bookseller

On book retailers, the judging panel said:

‘The judging panel was impressed by the depth of range and support for books with investment in stores, events, displays and charitable activities that all go towards making reading accessible for many Australians. Their contribution to the entire book industry built on staff care and building on dedicated customer relationships cannot be understated.’

Small Publisher of the Year

  • Magabala Books
  • University of Queensland Press(UQP)
  • Scribe Publications
  • Black Inc.
  • Pantera Press

On Small Publisher of the Year, the judges said:

‘Every small publisher offers something unique to the cultural landscape of Australia. The judging panel was impressed by the commitment to diversity and representation and the willingness to publish in an exciting range of formats and genres.’

Publisher of the Year

  • Simon & Schuster Australia
  • Allen & Unwin
  • Penguin Random House Australia
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • Pan Macmillan Australia

On Publisher of the Year, the judges said:

‘Despite the global challenges of distribution and supply chains, our Australian publishers have all sought to find solutions for supply chain coverage and to get books out to readers. They worked to improve staff support and diversity and inclusion within the industry, with notable progress.’

New ABIA Business Awards for 2023

Commissioning Editor/Publisher of the Year

The inaugural Commissioning Editor Award recognises the importance of an editor or publisher who provides excellence in the support of their authors, and the acquisition and commission of new titles that not only meets the needs of the publishing house but enriches the Australian publishing landscape.

  • Rebecca Saunders (Hachette Australia)
  • Jane Palfreyman (Allen & Unwin)
  • Rebecca Young (Scholastic Australia)
  • Vanessa Radnidge (Hachette Australia)
  • Mandy Brett (Text Publishing)

On the Commissioning Editor Award, the judging panel said:

‘The judging panel was impressed by year’s exceptional shortlist contenders all of whom have championed their authors and delivered strong commercial publishing programs. There is evidence of literary success and a commitment to publishing a good representation of Australian voices.’

Marketing Strategy

The inaugural Marketing Strategy Award recognises the important work of marketing professionals in showcasing their talent and individual product lines and lists with imaginative, innovative and effective campaigns that have captured the imagination of Australian readers.

  • Stolen Focus by Johann Hari (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Runt by Craig Silvey, illustrated by Sara Acton (Allen and Unwin)
  • Barefoot Kids by Scott Pape (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding by Holly Ringland (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Lisa by Lisa Curry & Ellen Whinnett (HarperCollins Publishers)

On the Marketing Strategy Award, the judging panel said:

‘Across the board the judging panel was impressed by the well-executed, multi-channel marketing programs presented. They all sort to leverage the author’s reputation to engage with their audience with innovative solutions as well as connect them with a wider audience-base.’

Hall of Fame awards

The Hall of Fame Awards consist of the Lloyd O’Neil Award, which honours outstanding service to the Australian book industry and the Pixie O’Harris Award, for contributions to children’s literature - congratulations to our new Hall of Fame inductees!

Congratulations to the new Hall of Fame recipients, and the companies shortlisted for the six Business Awards, all recognising outstanding contributions to the industry.

Lloyd O’Neil Award – Tim Winton

Tim Winton has published 29 books over his 40 year literary career. He has been twice shortlisted for the Booker Prize and has won numerous awards, including Miles Franklin Literary Awards for Shallows, Cloudstreet, Dirt Music, and Breath. The influence of his writing has seeped into our collective consciousness, reflected in conversations from the arts, education and community activism to the environment and marine conservation. Most recently, he was a writer, narrator, and executive producer of the nature documentary Ningaloo Nyingguluc.

On receipt of the award, Tim said:

‘It’s a lovely thing to be honoured by the writers, publishers and booksellers who keep our precious book culture alive, and I’m really touched to be given this award in my 40th year in the caper.’

Pixie O’Harris Award – Lisa Berryman

Lisa Berryman is one of Australia’s most renowned publishers of children books from picture books to young adult titles. With a career spanning over 40 years, she is an enthusiastic and motivating champion for children’s literature and has been instrumental in bringing the voices of numerous successful Australian children’s book authors into the public eye as well as caretaking beloved Australian classics such as The Magic Pudding by Norman Lindsay, The Muddleheaded Wombat by Ruth Park and The Complete Adventures of Blinky Bill by Dorothy Wall.

Her faith in the transformative power of words, stories, and books is at the core of her achievement. The Pixie O’Harris Award is presented to a distinguished individual who has shown tireless support for children’s literature – Lisa embodies that dedication.

On receipt of the award, Lisa said:

‘What an extraordinary honour it is to receive this prestigious award in recognition of the many years I have spent pursuing my passion for children’s books.’

Awards ceremony

The winners of the Book Awards and the Business Awards, as well as the Hall of Fame winners, will be celebrated in Sydney on 25 May.

We would like to thank our valued sponsors for their support of this year's Australian Book Industry Awards.