Entries open for IPEd's Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award


Do you know of a dedicated editor who has helped a writer deliver the best possible outcome on a fiction or non-fiction publication?

If so, we warmly encourage you to nominate them for the Institute of Professional Editor’s (IPEd) 2023 Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award (also known as “the Rosie”) by 21 October 2022.

Offering a $4000 cash prize to the winning editor, the Rosie recognises excellence in editing, as demonstrated in a work published during the period 1 January 2021 to 21 October 2022. The work’s author, publisher or editor may make the nomination.

IPEd’s Standing Committee for Awards and Prizes Co-chair Carol Goudie said the Rosie recognises the vital role that editors play in developing a work and getting it into the hands of readers, saying:

“This award recognises editors who have championed, supported and nurtured an author’s writing so that it can be the best version of itself and the best possible reader experience, resulting in the best possible publishing outcome

In the slightly paraphrased words of our wonderful inaugural Rosie winner, Jacqueline Blanchard, ‘I would encourage all editors, authors and publishers to show support for this award by entering it.’”

The Rosie honours the memory of Rosanne Fitzgibbon DE (1947–2012) – a distinguished editor of literary fiction, nonfiction and scholarly work in literary studies. 

The nominated work is not restricted to a single book. It may be another substantial body of work, such as a series of books (with a single editor), a monograph series, or an e-publicaton. 

The winner will be announced at the 11th IPEd Editing Conference in May 2023. 

For more information about the Rosie, please see the IPEd website

Johannes Jakob was the winner of the 2021 Rosie award for his work on Kyle Perry’s novel The Bluffs, and helped transform a raw manuscript into a commercially successful work of crime fiction for Penguin Random House. Learn more here.