The Rising Star award recognises emerging talent in the Australian publishing industry – trade, educational or scholarly – who demonstrate ongoing excellence and growth in their role and contribution to their profession.

Rising Stars must have been part of the industry for no more than 10 years, and are considered for their:

  • enthusiasm, reliability and integrity

  • ability to take initiative, solve problems and provide solutions

  • ability to work effectively as part of a team, and to provide team leadership

  • key contributions made in their role and/or in the wider industry.

Rising Star award 2024

Nominations are now closed for the 2024 Rising Star award. The shortlist will be announced in June and the winner will be announced at the APA's BookUp Conference in Melbourne on 7 August. 

For more information contact APA Industry Development Manager Andrea Hanke.

Past Rising Star award winners

Previous Rising Star winners include editors, book designers and marketing professionals – learn more about them below.


Tom Langshaw (Commissioning Editor, Pantera Press)  – read an interview


  • Kajal Narayan (Head of Marketing, Pantera Press)  – read an interview
  • Genevieve Nelsson (Deputy Head of Marketing and Publicity, Bloomsbury) – read an interview
  • Kathleen (Katty) O'Neill (Metadata Manager, Hardie Grant Books and Explore) – read an interview
  • Eloise Plant (Digital Manager, HQ Books / HarperCollins Australia) – read an interview

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found